Schumann! Songs! and Page Turning!

August 7, 2010

One of my earlier blogs was entitled: "The Value of the Page Turner." I would like to subtitle this blog the same, for it became clear to me that we page turners are a VERY necessary part of live performance as the A/C did it’s work once again at Dominion Chalmers United Church this eve…

The audience took their places while I waited backstage with a surprisingly calm group of musicians preparing to present a recital of Schumann’s music. Canadian pianist Erika Switzer really had her work cut out for her this evening! She and horn player Lawrence Vine opened with Schumann’s Adagio and Allegro. Next up was Martha Guth with a very dignified Mary, Queen of Scots. Then, oboist Charles (Chip) Hamann and Switzer presented a very moving Three Romances, and, to close the first half, Guth rejoined Switzer for an intensely moving Frauenliebe und Leben. There was something intensely powerful about a very pregnant woman (due in three weeks!) singing this cycle of found love, marriage, childbirth, and finally, devastation and anger at the loss of her true love. She cried, and frankly, so did I! Or, at least I tried not to, for after the third song, Switzer had to stop and call out: "I’m terribly sorry for the interruption, but I’m going to need Jackie (me) to come back up here again!" The A/C was particularly devilish this evening, and I had to stand and hold the music still for the remainder of the movements, all while trying not to bawl with sorrow at the anticipation of that traumatic last song!

After requesting that the A/C be shut off for the second half…..I settled in with the audience to watch Chris Pedro Trakas and Switzer perform Schumann’s monumental Dichterliebe, his best known cycle. Wow. This was a particularly moving rendition of "A Poet’s Love", and, at the end, as he put himself ‘in the coffin’, I felt as such, totally heartbroken. All in all, a fantastic evening, and I’m sorry for those who were unable to share in it!

Jacqueline Woods (lover of intensely sad Schumann cycles, and of page turners combating aggressive A/C!)

Leave a comment