Music Marathon!

August 4, 2010

Well, my internet has been down for two days, and I have since been to about six concerts, all of which I have enjoyed very much.
It all started with the New Music Marathon. I wasn’t able to hear the last two on tuesday’s roster, which was upsetting. but monday’s concerts proved successful and invigorating. I really enjoyed almost every piece and was impressed with all the performers.

I reallly love hearing things I’ve never heard before and listening to how different composers use the resources to create their desired effect. This is always unique, but with new music, the differences tend to be far more obvious then with your traditional repertoire. One program can span quite a variety of subjects, moods, techniques, etc. Since Joannie gave such a detailed description of these concerts, I think I will focus today on the concert that I saw today before ing off to work, and that was A Transatlantic Journey.

Baritone, Brett Polegato and Robert Kortgaard gave a lovely recital this afternoon, presenting songs in English from England, from the ship, then from America. It really was an enjoyable journey. I went because they were doing Ivor Novello’s ‘And Her Mother Came To’, which I heard on the movie ‘Gosford Park’. I enjoyed the live version a lot better and finally heard the punchline of the whole song, which was grand. I also really enjoyed his version of Copland’s folk song settings and the Charles Ives’ Charlie Rutlage. In these pieces, Mr. Polegato stepped out of the box a little, with a bit of a yelp.

What a great voice. I don’t attend a lot of vocal recitals, but it was the perfect concert for me as it gave me an opportunity to reflect on some of the stories told. Thanks for another great chamberfest offering.

I’ve got four concerts planned tomorrow: Musical Musings – Harry Halbrecht will speak about one of my favourite contemporary composers, Giacinto Scelsi; Then I am going to Discover the Viola (where I will discover what a chalumeau is); I won’t miss Angele Dubeau & La Pieta: they are playing a nice selection with a lot of new pieces – promises to be fantastic!) and I will (if I have any steam left) see the Late Night Show at St. Brigid’s, where flutist Chris Norman and his group will likely rock the house.

Can’t Wait!

❤ Aura

One Response to “Music Marathon!”

  1. Jackie said

    I had a lovely afternoon with you! Was sorry not to have you join us for Toca Loca – it was AWESOME!

Leave a comment